+1 (530) 242-4155

Experienced Redding DUI Attorney Helping You Navigate California’s DUI Laws

More often than not, those facing DUI charges are first-time offenders. It goes without saying that driving under the influence is a serious mistake, but it doesn’t have to define the rest of your life. Don’t allow one momentary lapse in judgment to negatively impact your reputation and financial well-being.

While a DUI charge is not unbeatable, it is crucial to consult with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to obtain the best possible outcome.

California Drunk Driving Laws

When driving in the state of California, the following is against the law:

  • Drivers under 21 may not carry unsealed beer, wine or liquor in their vehicle while they are driving alone
  • Drivers under 21 may not drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.01 or higher
  • Drivers under 21 may not consume alcohol of any kind, including cough syrup and/or prescription drugs
  • A driver under 18 may not drive with ANY measurable blood alcohol concentration
  • Drivers of any age may not operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or higher
  • Repeat offenders may not drive with a BAC of 0.01 or higher

What Is The Minimum Penalty For A DUI Conviction?

Assuming this is your first DUI offense and that no one suffered any bodily harm as a result, the minimum penalties for a DUI conviction in California include a fine of approximately $1,800 and a 48-hour jail sentence, or a 90-day license restriction allowing you to drive only to and from work. A first offense also mandates the attendance and completion of a $500, three-month alcohol-treatment program (keep in mind that this will be nine months if your BAC was 0.20 or higher). Lastly, a DUI conviction will also result in the loss of your driver’s license for at least 30 days, followed by a five-month restriction in which you are only allowed to drive to and from work.

What Happens Next?

Facing DUI-related charges can be overwhelming. From the initial encounter with law enforcement to the considerable fines and potential jail time, there is nothing easy about freeing yourself from the many hindrances that come with a drunk driving charge. Let Douglas L. Gardner Attorney at Law utilize his vast experience and superior work ethic to help you protect your future.

Contact Douglas L. Gardner Attorney At Law Today

Attorney Douglas Gardner has extensive experiencing defending numerous types of DUI-related offenses, including first-time DUI offenses, juvenile DUI offenses, boating under the influence (BUI) and DMV administrative hearings. Mr. Gardner can also help with driving with a suspended license charges, driver’s license restoration and DUIs resulting in manslaughter.

For Legal Advice Pertaining To DUI-Related Charges, Please Contact Douglas L. Gardner Attorney At Law Today At (530) 242-4155 To Schedule A Free Consultation. With Over 30 Years Of Experience Defending Citizens Of Shasta County, California, Mr. Gardner Is Well-Equipped To Help You Secure The Future You Deserve.

Doug L. Gardner

DUI & Criminal Defense Attorney

  • Popular Topics

  • FAQ

    Knowledge is power, get honest answers now from our database of frequently asked questions.